Long bonds, at these rates?

General Discussion on the Permanent Portfolio Strategy

Moderator: Global Moderator

boglerdude
Executive Member
Executive Member

Long bonds, at these rates?

Post by boglerdude »

Novice here, setting up PP. If I'm buy and hold (dont plan on much trading) could I just use cash (1%) instead of long bonds (VWESX?) since rates cant go much lower?
grapesofwrath
Associate Member
Associate Member

Re: Long bonds, at these rates?

Post by grapesofwrath »

Instead of 25% cash and 25% long bonds why not 50% in treasury notes of duration say 3-5 years ? This should provide balance against stocks and still manage OK in a slowly rising rate environment.
blue_ruin17
Executive Member
Executive Member

Post by blue_ruin17 »

U.S. Treasuries are the international "flight-to-safety" in the event of a deflationary crisis (i.e. 2008).

Sure, rates "can't get much lower", but they absolutely can stay low for extended periods of time (as the last 8 years has proven).

But holding long U.S. Treasuries isn't just about exploiting low rates, its about holding a "lifeboat" asset. In the event of another international deflationary crisis, you'll be holding tickets to the only lifeboat in town.

Or maybe not. Maybe people will be wary of U.S. Treasuries during the next crisis because they don't trust the U.S. to be responsible with managing the US$ (and I can't argue with anyone on that).

But if people don't trust U.S. Treasuries during the next crisis, they'll almost certainly flock to GOLD.

Either way, you're hedged. But if you decide to shun either asset, you're not.
STAT PERPETUS PORTFOLIO DUM VOLVITUR ORBIS

Amazon: Investing Equanimity: The Logic & Wisdom of the Permanent Portfolio
buddtholomew
Executive Member
Executive Member

Post by buddtholomew »

boglerdude wrote:Novice here, setting up PP. If I'm buy and hold (dont plan on much trading) could I just use cash (1%) instead of long bonds (VWESX?) since rates cant go much lower?
Listen to TennPaGa.