AllocateSmartly (Ochotona)

A place to talk about speculative investing ideas for the optional Variable Portfolio

Moderator: Global Moderator

ochotona
Executive Member
Executive Member

AllocateSmartly (Ochotona)

Post by ochotona » Sat Apr 08, 2023 5:28 pm

🚧 split off Moonshots thread \ DS 🚧

Make this your moonshot. I have 10% of my portfolio going to this. Look at how low the drawdown is, backtested 50 years. Look at the Sharpe / Sortino ratios.

https://allocatesmartly.com/bold-asset-allocation/

Warning - seriously not tax efficient, lots of trading per year, so only use it in an IRA / 401k / HSA, etc.

The blog exposes the rules in public. You want to code it? Go right ahead! The original SSRN paper is also published. I pay because I'm not a good coder and I have another day job!
dualstow
Executive Member
Executive Member

Re: Moonshots

Post by dualstow » Sun Apr 09, 2023 6:45 am

ochotona wrote:
Sat Apr 08, 2023 5:28 pm
Make this your moonshot.

I looked that over twice — still waking up — but it doesn’t look like a moonshot. It looks like a strategy that gets in and out of TIPS, S&P 500, etc. Those assets that they finally list at the bottom.
A moonshot is a crazy stock that will probably lose money but might end up growing 20x because of success (or silly memesters).
RIP Marcello Gandini
D1984
Executive Member
Executive Member

Post by D1984 » Sun Apr 09, 2023 7:54 am

ochotona wrote:
Sat Apr 08, 2023 5:28 pm
Make this your moonshot. I have 10% of my portfolio going to this. Look at how low the drawdown is, backtested 50 years. Look at the Sharpe / Sortino ratios.

https://allocatesmartly.com/bold-asset-allocation/

Warning - seriously not tax efficient, lots of trading per year, so only use it in an IRA / 401k / HSA, etc.

The blog exposes the rules in public. You want to code it? Go right ahead! The original SSRN paper is also published. I pay because I'm not a good coder and I have another day job!