TLT Interest Payments

Discussion of the Bond portion of the Permanent Portfolio

Moderator: Global Moderator

PPConvert

TLT Interest Payments

Post by PPConvert » Fri Apr 30, 2010 6:52 pm

I am new to ETFs.  With bond funds, the interest payments typically would be automatically reinvested into the fund.  Does that happen with TLT as well?  If not, what is the recommended practice with respect to the interest payments.  Do they just sit in the brokerage cash account and then count as part of the cash component of the PP until rebalancing?  Or is there a way to have them automatically reinvested without paying transaction costs every time?  Thanks very much.  I have learned an awful lot between the bogleheads.org thread on the PP and this one.
craigr
Administrator
Administrator

Re: TLT Interest Payments

Post by craigr » Fri Apr 30, 2010 6:56 pm

With funds or ETFs you normally can do dividend re-investment or not. It's often an option you can select (a brokerage may call it DRIP - Dividend Reinvestment Program). The benefit of enrolling in the DRIP at a brokerage/mutual fund company is you can have the shares bought automatically with no commissions when the dividends are paid.

However, what I recommend is to NOT reinvest the dividends/interest. Have them all swept into your cash account. As the money accrues through the year you can use the proceeds to buy into the lagging assets at certain times. This makes bookkeeping a lot easier because you do not have a bunch of tiny share lot purchases going on and makes rebalancing more efficient (especially for taxable accounts). 
Last edited by craigr on Fri Apr 30, 2010 6:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.
MediumTex
Administrator
Administrator

Post by MediumTex » Fri Apr 30, 2010 8:31 pm

TLT pays a monthly dividend.  For some reason, the chart on Yahoo Finance sometimes doesn't show a dividend every month, but it pays one monthly.  It normally shows up in your account around the 11th of the month.