To TLH or not to TLH PRPFX?

Discussion of funds that implement the Permanent Portfolio strategy

Moderator: Global Moderator

foglifter
Executive Member
Executive Member

To TLH or not to TLH PRPFX?

Post by foglifter » Tue Dec 13, 2011 12:58 pm

I've been DCAing almost monthly into PRPFX for 3 years in my taxable account and now due to the September drop I got some of the tax lots in the red.

I'm trying to decide whether I just stick with these shares or sell them to get the tax write-off. In case of the latter the second question pops up: is there a good substitute for PRPFX to put the sale proceeds for 31 day and then jump back into PRPFX? Maybe total bond fund or GNMA? 

Thanks!
"Let every man divide his money into three parts, and invest a third in land, a third in business, and a third let him keep in reserve."
- Talmud
buddtholomew
Executive Member
Executive Member

Re: To TLH or not to TLH PRPFX?

Post by buddtholomew » Wed Dec 14, 2011 2:47 pm

What is preventing you from harvesting the loss? I wish that HB would have discussed this in his literature or podcasts as the benefits outweigh the drawbacks.  Place the proceeds in Cash and wait out the 30 days before re-investing in the fund.
"The first principle is that you must not fool yourself and you are the easiest person to fool" --Feynman.
foglifter
Executive Member
Executive Member

Post by foglifter » Wed Dec 14, 2011 4:02 pm

buddtholomew wrote: What is preventing you from harvesting the loss? I wish that HB would have discussed this in his literature or podcasts as the benefits outweigh the drawbacks.  Place the proceeds in Cash and wait out the 30 days before re-investing in the fund.
I just want to avoid losing on a possible market rise that might happen in January if I sit in cash. Although in case of PRPFX any jump (up or down) would be smoothed by the non-stock assets in the fund.